Brian D. Newby was first appointed Johnson County Election Commissioner by Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh (R) in January 2005 and was also appointed by Secretary of State Chris Biggs (D) and Secretary of State Kris Kobach (R). He was the 8th Johnson Countian to serve as Election Commissioner.

Newby administered 69 elections while earning national recognition for operational and technological innovation excellence.   Newby administered more elections than any other election commissioner in Johnson County history.

By unanimous vote of Commissioners, the US Election Assistance Commission appointed Newby as the second Executive Director in the history of the agency, to a four-year term, on October 22, 2015.  This blog has been hiatus but is being renewed, with the purpose still the same.